Skip to main content

Corona - 1 week on

Corona - 1 week on

Flashback to 8 days ago. Thursday 12 March. Heads up to those who have already lost track of time: in the evening, it was announced that schools would close. That contact with others must be avoided and events could no longer go ahead. And then that e-mail from the management team: conference call with all team members at 3.30 p.m. 


Join us on screen, individually. It was an obligatory call for everyone, regardless of whether you were on a construction site, inside an Upkot building, attending a training course, at the office or working from home. Our Co-CEO Koenraad and Happiness Officer Sofie appeared on screen. Their message was loud and clear. The safety precautions the company had taken so far were not enough. We needed to take it one step further.


Clear and drastic measures were announced. No more rent and open days. Construction sites must be kept up and running for as long as possible with minimal staff on site. Whoever can work from home must do so. All meetings will be held online. No more face-to-face management meetings.


And then Koenraad ended the conference call with the words, “I hope to see as few people as possible at the office tomorrow”. Bizarre, to say the least. And that was that. We were catapulted into a new reality. A reality where everyone at Upgrade Estate has accepted the situation, while trying to fight the consequences.

 

Output management has become the new normal. Everything is being done remotely. Our marketing team put together a digital rental platform in just 24 hours, allowing students to take a virtual tour and rent a room online. In just one week, we rented a whopping 70 student rooms!
Every day, Nele and Koenraad send us a video update. Our newsletter contains useful tips & tricks for working from home, possibly with kids. At the construction sites, we continue to work as much as possible, while guaranteeing safe working conditions for all.


We’ve created an Upgrade Estate playlist on Spotify and last Friday we enjoyed our first-ever digital after-work drink. Now more than ever, people must stay connected. That's no easy feat. But Upgrade Estate has found the solution: today, we are launching our digital information platform, which will allow us to stay connected with staff, investors and students.


We will share interesting topics via webinars, enable you to invest online and enjoy virtual visits to our projects. It’s an honour to work for a company like Upgrade Estate. A company that turns every challenge into an opportunity. We continue to work and fight to keep the company up and running despite these difficult circumstances, with a healthy dose of optimism. One thing is certain: we’re here to stay!

 

 

Corona  – 1 week later

 

Corona  – 1 week later

Aller au contenu principal

Corona – 1 semaine plus tard

Corona  – 1 semaine plus tard

 

Retour 8 jours en arrière. Le jeudi 12 mars. Petit rappel pour ceux et celles qui ont perdu le fil des jours : ce soir-là, on annonce la fermeture des écoles. Les contacts doivent être évités et tous les événements sont annulés. Un mail de l’équipe de direction nous parvient : à 15 h 30, téléconférence avec tous les collaborateurs. Regardez tous votre écran. La participation est obligatoire, que vous soyez sur un chantier, dans un bâtiment Upkot, en formation, au bureau ou en télétravail.

 

À l’image apparaissent Koenraad, notre co-CEO, et Sofie, notre Happiness Officer. Leur message est limpide. Les mesures de précaution prises jusqu’ici ne suffisent plus. L’entreprise doit aller plus loin. Des accords clairs et radicaux sont pris. Ce Les journées de location et de visite sont annulées sine die. Les chantiers, on tente de les poursuivre le plus longtemps possible avec un minimum de collaborateurs sur place. Tous ceux et celles qui le peuvent font du télétravail. Toutes les réunions sont organisées en ligne. L’équipe de direction ne se réunit plus en chair et en os.

 

Et Koenraad conclut avec ces mots étranges : j’espère voir le moins de monde possible demain au bureau. Aussitôt, nous atterrissons dans une nouvelle dimension. Une dimension dans laquelle Upgrade Estate accepte la situation, mais en refuse les conséquences.

L’output management devient la norme. Tout se fait à distance. Notre équipe de marketing met sur pied, en 24 heures, une plateforme de location numérique où les étudiants peuvent louer un kot grâce à une visite virtuelle. En une semaine, pas moins de 200 kots ont été loués !

 

Nele et Koenraad nous envoient chaque jour une vidéo de mise à jour. La newsletter partage trucs & astuces pour télétravailler, avec ou sans enfants à la maison. Et sur les chantiers, tout est mis en œuvre pour poursuivre les travaux autant que possible, en toute sécurité.

Une playlist Upgrade Estate a été créée sur Spotify et le vendredi, nous avons organisé notre premier apéro afterwork en ligne. 

 

Les connexions sont mises à rude épreuve ces derniers jours. Mais là aussi, Upgrade Estate a une solution. Aujourd’hui, nous lançons notre plateforme d’information numérique. Pour rester connectés avec nos collaborateurs, nos investisseurs et les étudiants. Une plateforme où nous pouvons partager des sujets intéressants via webinaires, où vous pouvez investir en ligne et faire une visite virtuelle de nos projets.

 

C’est un honneur de travailler pour une entreprise comme Upgrade Estate. Une entreprise qui, dans chaque défi, voit une opportunité. Et nous continuons à travailler et à nous battre avec une sacrée dose d’optimisme pour faire tourner l’entreprise en ces temps tourmentés. Une chose est sûre : en ce qui nous concerne, vous n’avez encore rien vu ! 

 

 

Corona  – 1 week later

 

Corona  – 1 week later