Skip to main content

Upgrade Charity

Why does Upgrade Estate support specific good causes?


The answer lies in our mission, which is to create social impact and social added value. We do this in various ways and through different projects.

 

We are always looking for a link with our business and work hard to assess whether our charity projects have sufficient social impact.

 

Currently, through Upgrade Charity, we are focusing on the projects described below. Besides, we also support numerous local and smaller initiatives.

Upgrade Solidarity

Aim
To meet the needs of our most vulnerable tenants during the coronavirus crisis in 2020, we set up the private foundation Upgrade Solidarity. For this, we were able to count on the solidarity of our investors and Co-creators who supported it through voluntary contributions.


Students who were struggling financially could apply for a rental allowance on the basis of objective and measurable criteria. As a result, around 40 students were able to continue their studies without having to give up their student room.


A survey revealed that the mental well-being of some of our tenants was also suffering. As part of our social mission, we decided to enter into a partnership with an approved psychology practice through Upgrade Solidarity. This has made it easy for students with mental health issues to book an appointment with a psychologist. 


What's more, Upgrade Solidarity pays for these sessions. Since it began, around 80 students have registered for the scheme.

 

How do we contribute?
Upgrade Solidarity will continue to operate so we can accomplish our social mission. Students or young professionals in need will be able to call upon the foundation. 


Upgrade Estate is not only the foundation's initiator, but also monitors the approved applications and their entire follow-up. Stakeholders who make a contribution receive access to the accounts and are kept informed in a transparent manner.

 

Spontaneous donations can always be paid into the following account: BE44 3632 0046 0745
 

Supporting Friends

Aim
Supporting Friends is an association that supports local projects on São Tomé e Principe, a small island off the west coast of Africa. It prides itself on using 100% of the financial resources it raises to support the local population.


A group of Flemish medics organises medical missions here several times a year with volunteer doctors, anaesthetists, dentists and general surgeons to carry out operations in the national hospital.


Supporting Friends also provides accommodation and education, and creates a safe environment in the shelter where elderly people and children can enjoy a hot meal and a nice chat every day. 

 

How do we contribute?
Upgrade Estate provides the project with financial support and, for the future, is considering offering accommodation for medical students who come to Belgium for a placement.


More info 
Would you like more information about Supporting Friends? If so, please click here to visit their website. 
 

Supporting Friends

   

TAJO

Aim
Talentenatelier Jongeren (Young People's Talent Workshop) started from the idea that only those who are offered opportunities will be able to seize them. With this in mind, it organises practical workshops on Saturdays for socially vulnerable young people. The objective is to teach participants the importance of ‘doing your best for later’. It hopes to give them passions and interests to motivate them to study in a direction that will take them further.
  
How do we contribute?
Together with TAJO, our Upkot coaches organise practical workshops on talents and group dynamics in the Prullenbos forest. We also host the graduation ceremony at our brand-new Upgrade Academy at the end of the academic year.

 

More information

Would you like to know more about TAJO? Visit their website.

 

 

tajo

Rhotia Valley Children's Home

Through Upgrade Charity, Upgrade Estate enters into a partnership with the Rhotia Valley Foundation in Tanzania. This foundation was set up in 2006 by Dr Joris Koch and Dr Marise Koch-Hekstra and consists of the Tented Lodge and Children's Home. When Nele and Koenraad visited this special place in 2018, they were blown away by the project. Afterwords they decided to contribute to this foundation with Upgrade Estate. Six talented orphans are being supported by various Upkot buildings, so they can realise their dreams. Apart from this initiative, Upgrade Estate supports several other local projects.

 

Aim
Rhotia Valley Children’s Home is a safe children's home for children from the local community. The organisation helps children without families to build a future full of opportunities. They deliver primary education to the children and encourage young people who grew up in the home to continue their studies. 

 

How do we contribute?
Six talented orphans are currently being supported by an Upkot building so that they can realise their dreams. We are happy to introduce these young people to you.

 

More information
Would you like to know more about Rhotia Valley Children's Home? Visit their website.

 

charity

Mkiwa Dawi Thuway

Date of birth: 1 June 1995
Dream: To become a teacher
Sponsored by Baudelo Upkot.

 

 

charity

Rozina Hamishi Athumani

Date of birth: 28 August 1999

Dream: To become a doctor
Sponsored by Mons Upkot & Backstage² Upkot.

 

charity

Justina Amrahani

Date of birth: 11 January 1999

Dream: To become a vet
Sponsored by Timi Upkot.

 

 

 

charity

Akwelini Baha Antony

Date of birth: 3 January 1997
Dream: To become an engineer
Sponsored by Gate Upkot.

 

 

 

charity

Rosemary Hamishi Athumani

Date of birth: 18 December 1995
Dream: To become a chemistry teacher
Sponsored by Mia Upkot.

 

 

charity

Kerani Philipot-Nade

Date of birth: 4 April 1994
Dream: To become a pharmacist
Sponsored by Ganda Upkot.

 

Kies Kleur tegen Pesten

Aim
Today, one in five children and adolescents in Flanders is the victim of bullying. Many of them will suffer the consequences for a long time to come. Kies Kleur tegen Pesten (Take a Stand against Bullying) wants to do something about this together with children, adolescents and their mentors.


How do we contribute?
We find it essential that every resident in our buildings is treated with respect. For this purpose, we have set up an email contact point: respect@upkot.be. You can find more information about this on our Upkot website.

 

At the end of 2020, all spontaneous donations and money that we collected through campaigns were donated to Kies Kleur tegen Pesten (Take a Stand against Bullying).

 

More information
Would you like to know more about Kies Kleur tegen Pesten? Visit their website.

 

 

 

respect upkot

VZW Stappen

Aim

The non-profit organisation VZW Stappen is a youth service accommodation facility for 29 young women aged between 14 and 21, who have been placed there by a juvenile court or voluntary support workers. Stappen focuses on (re)connecting these young women with their environment, their desires, their school or work-based programmes, etc. The charity provides tailored mentorship and accommodation. 

 

How do we contribute?

In 2020, Upgrade Estate donated a gypsy wagon to VZW Stappen. They will refurbish it and use it in projects aimed at forming connections and fostering reintegration.

 

More information
Would you like to know more about VZW Stappen? Visit their website.

Aller au contenu principal

Upgrade Charity

Pourquoi soutenons-nous, avec Upgrade Estate, certains organismes de bienfaisance ?


La réponse se trouve dans notre mission : créer un impact social et une plus-value sociétale. Nous le faisons de plusieurs manières et au travers de divers projets.

 

Nous recherchons toujours un lien avec notre entreprise et essayons d’évaluer correctement si nous avons un impact social suffisant grâce à nos projets caritatifs. 

 

Aujourd’hui, nous nous concentrons sur les projets suivants avec Upgrade Charity. En outre, nous soutenons de nombreuses initiatives locales et à plus petite échelle.
 

Upgrade Solidarity

Objectif 
Afin de répondre aux besoins de nos locataires les plus vulnérables pendant la crise du coronavirus en 2020, nous avons créé la fondation privée Upgrade Solidarity. Nous avons pu compter pour cela sur la solidarité de nos investisseurs et de nos collaborateurs qui ont versé ce qu'ils pouvaient ou souhaitaient.


Les étudiants qui rencontraient des difficultés financières pouvaient introduire une demande d’intervention dans leur loyer sur la base de critères objectifs et mesurables. Une quarantaine d’étudiants ont ainsi pu poursuivre leurs études sans devoir renoncer à leur chambre d’étudiant.


Une enquête a également révélé que le bien-être mental d'une partie de nos locataires se détériorait. Dans le cadre de notre mission sociale, nous avons décidé de mettre en place, via Upgrade Solidarity, une collaboration avec un cabinet de psychologues agréés. Les étudiants ayant des problèmes mentaux peuvent réserver facilement une consultation avec un psychologue. 


Ces séances sont payées par Upgrade Solidarity. Jusqu’à ce jour, environ 80 étudiants ont fait appel à ce programme.

 

Notre contribution
Upgrade Solidarity continuera à soutenir notre mission sociale. Les étudiants ou jeunes travailleurs dans le besoin pourront faire appel à la fondation. 


Upgrade Estate n’en est pas seulement l’initiateur, mais contrôle aussi les demandes approuvées et leur suivi complet. Les parties prenantes qui apportent une contribution ont accès aux comptes et sont tenues informées de manière transparente. 
 
Les dons spontanés peuvent être versés sur le compte BE44 3632 0046 0745
 

Supporting Friends

Objectif
Supporting Friends est une association qui soutient des projets locaux à São Tomé-et-Principe, une petite île au large de la côte ouest de l’Afrique. L’organisation met un point d’honneur à utiliser 100 % des ressources financières qu’elle collecte pour soutenir la population locale.


Un groupe de médecins flamands organise plusieurs fois par an des missions médicales avec des médecins, anesthésistes, dentistes et chirurgiens généralistes bénévoles pour effectuer des opérations à l’hôpital national.


Supporting Friends fournit également un accès au logement et à l’enseignement et crée un environnement sûr dans le centre d’accueil où les personnes âgées et les enfants peuvent se rendre tous les jours pour profiter d’un repas chaud et discuter dans un cadre agréable.  

 

Notre contribution
Upgrade Estate soutient financièrement le projet et étudie également la possibilité de fournir à l’avenir un logement aux étudiants en médecine qui viendraient en stage en Belgique.


Plus d’informations 
Vous souhaitez de plus amples informations sur Supporting Friends ? Visitez le site web ici  
 

Supporting Friends

   

TAJO

Objectif
TAJO ou Talentenatelier Jongeren (atelier de talents pour les jeunes) part de l’idée que seuls ceux qui se voient offrir des opportunités peuvent les saisir. C’est pourquoi TAJO organise, le samedi, des ateliers pratiques pour les jeunes socialement vulnérables dans le but de leur apprendre l’importance de « faire de son mieux pour l’avenir ». Les organisateurs espèrent ainsi susciter des passions et des intérêts qui incitent les jeunes à faire des études dans une branche qui les mènera plus loin.
  
Notre contribution
En collaboration avec TAJO, nos coaches Upkot organisent sur le terrain du Prullenbos un atelier pratique sur les talents et la dynamique de groupe. De plus, nous mettons à disposition notre toute nouvelle Upgrade Academy pour la cérémonie de remise des diplômes à la fin de l’année académique.

 

En savoir plus?
N'hésitez pas de visiter le site web de TAJO.

 

tajo

Rhotia Valley Children's Home

Via Upgrade Charity , Upgrade Estate collabore avec Rhotia Valley Foundation en Tanzania. Lancée en 2006 par le Dr Joris Koch et le Dr Marise Koch-Hekstra, la fondation comprend le Tented Lodge et la Children's Home. Lors de leur visite en 2018, Nele et Koenraad ont été époustouflés par le projet et ont décidé d’y contribuer via Upgrade Estate. Ainsi, Six orphelins talentueux peuvent réaliser leur rêve avec le soutien d’un bâtiment Upkot. En plus de cette initiative, il existe de nombreux autres projets locaux que nous soutenons par Upgrade Estate.

 

Objectif
Rhotia Valley Children’s Home est un orphelinat sûr pour les enfants de la communauté locale. L’organisation aide les enfants sans famille à se construire un avenir. Un avenir avec des opportunités ! Elle donne une éducation primaire aux enfants et encourage les jeunes qui ont grandi dans l’orphelinat à poursuivre des études. 


Notre contribution

Pour le moment, six orphelins talentueux sont parrainés par un projet Upkot afin de pouvoir réaliser leurs rêves. 

 

En savoir plus?
N'hésitez pas de visiter le site web de Rhotia Valley Children's Home.

 

charity

Mkiwa Dawi Thuway

Date de naissance : 1er juin 1995
Rêve : devenir instituteur
Parrainé par  Baudelo Upkot.

 

 

charity

Rozina Hamishi Athumani

Date de naissance : 28 août 1999

Rêve : devenir médecin
Parrainée par  Mons Upkot & Backstage² Upkot.

 

charity

Justina Amrahani

Date de naissance : 11 janvier 1999

Rêve : devenir vétérinaire
Parrainée par Timi Upkot.

 

 

 

charity

Akwelini Baha Antony

Date de naissance : 3 janvier 1997
Rêve : devenir ingénieur
Parrainé par Gate Upkot.

 

 

 

charity

Rosemary Hamishi Athumani

Date de naissance : 18 décembre 1995
Rêve : devenir professeur de chimie
Parrainée par Mia Upkot.

 

 

charity

Kerani Philipot-Nade

Date de naissance : 4 avril 1994
Rêve : devenir pharmacien
Parrainé par Ganda Upkot.

 

Kies Kleur tegen Pesten

Objectif
Aujourd’hui en Flandre, 1 enfant et jeune sur 5 est victime de harcèlement. Beaucoup d’entre eux en subissent les conséquences très longtemps. « Choisis une couleur contre le harcèlement » veut agir contre le harcèlement avec les enfants, les jeunes et les personnes qui les accompagnent.


Notre contribution
Nous pensons qu’il est important que chaque résident de nos bâtiments soit traité avec respect. C’est pourquoi nous avons mis en place l’assistance respect@upkot.be. Nous la présentons également sur notre site web Upkot.

 

Fin 2020, tous les dons spontanés et l’argent que nous avons récoltés dans le cadre d’actions ont été versés à l’initiative « Choisis une couleur contre le harcèlement ».

 

En savoir plus ?
N'hésitez pas de visiter le site web de Kies Kleur tegen Pesten.

 

 

upkot respect

ASBL Stappen

Objectif
L’ASBL Stappen est un foyer d’accompagnement spécialisé dans la prise en charge des jeunes, qui accueille 29 filles âgées de 14 à 21 ans placées par un juge de la jeunesse ou via une assistance volontaire. Stappen vise principalement la (re)connexion des jeunes avec leur environnement, leurs propres envies, leur parcours scolaire ou professionnel... Stappen propose un accompagnement et un hébergement sur mesure. 

 

Notre contribution
En 2020, Upgrade Estate a fait don d’une roulotte à l'ASBL Stappen qui sera remise à neuf et utilisée pour des projets axés sur l’établissement de liens et la réintégration.

 

En savoir plus ?
N'hésitez pas de visiter le site web d'ABSL Stappen.